Not the belt... (Read 490 times)
nathanhooper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!
 Seriously...

NorthWest Arkansas
Not the belt...
08/18/10 at 05:04:09

Well after much more consideration, and listening to what the sound is that is coming from underneath me while shifting and decelerating, I am convinced, almost, that it is not the belt.  I can see how some might think it is, it does sound like one slipping, but the noise really sounds like it is coming from the right side.

I bought this bike thinking that the owner was trying to hid something.  I know that it is probably a stupid thing to go ahead and buy when you have a real gut feeling on something, but I wanted the bike.  Cosmetically it is in great condition.  Unfortunately, a great looking bike wont get you too far. lol.  The first clue I had was how full the engine was of oil.

So I am going to guess, wild stab here, that the noise is clutch slippage.  I am not an expert, nor have I ever had this problem, so I might be completely off base.  But the noise is coming from that spot.  It only comes when I shift, or decelerate, and general only when I am travelling at high speeds.  It may have happened some before at low speed so I cannot rule it out.  It however does not happen at all in first gear, and if I time the clutch release just right it wont happen in any of the other gears.  However, I cannot make it not happen in 5th gear.  It always happens in that one.

Anyone have any comments, solutions, advise?  I am thinking someone put the wrong oil in at some point and it is what is causing it.  Would some good motorcycle detergent oil put in, driven for a while, changed, and then done over a couple of times clean the clutch of the antistickeries (lol).  Or am I looking at a gear issue?  At this point I am now just throwing darts out there so I think I will shut up and let you all talk back.  Thanks!!!

IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Re: Not the belt...