Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Hello...  & Feel of the S40 Ride (Read 146 times)
npcrs40
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Hello...  & Feel of the S40 Ride
05/29/10 at 17:34:42

Hello, I am new to suzukisavage.com.  I had a GZ250 (and loved it) but wanted a bit more power so I moved to a 2005 S40.  I have been riding the S40 for a couple of months now.

I have a question about the feel of the ride.  There are times when I feel that the bike has a push/pull feel to it.  It is usually when I am cruising along without a load on the engine.  So, is it just that I am at that point where I am in the middle of acel/decel?  Have others felt this?  I did not feel this with my GZ250 but now I have more power and belt drive.  I am just wondering if this is how the big single 650 behaves.  

I do a lot of back road riding.  I often go where ever the wind takes me.  I also use Google Maps, switching between the terrain & map view to find interesting roads to ride on.

In any case, I am having a lot of fun with my S40.  I mounted a Garmin Quest GPS in the center of the handlebars.  I used a RAM mount frankensteined to a Garmin Nuvi motorcycle mount and it is easier to see the speed on the GPS.  I also chose one of my display settings as the trip odometer so it always shows my trip mileage (handy).  I put a new battery in the Quest and It does run for a long time before it needs charging (I don't know that it lasts 20 hrs on the aftermarket battery but I can get 3 or 4  trips of 3-4 hrs before recharging).  So, I do not need to wire it for power.  My quest was about $65 on ebay and the new battery was $25.

I relocated the turn signals to the license plate mount and I use a set of small TourMaster saddlebags.  Those are my only changes.  I get about 55-60 mpg (not as much as the 68 mpg that the GZ250 got but very respectable with the greater amount of power).