Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Electrical problem (Read 97 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Electrical problem
05/29/10 at 12:59:14

Okay - so the battery is good.  I checked with a voltometer and it was 13.5 with the bike and 13.5 with the bike running.  I've kind of figured out that it is the "stator" (sp) or related items.  I'm just not sure what to do with that information.  I'm not a mechanic kind of guy!

Thanks!

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Electrical problem
Reply #1 - 05/29/10 at 13:40:39

I think you've been here before, but I don't know for sure.

If you're expecting everyone to memorize your problem, you're expectin' way too much.

Tell us again what's goin' on and why you're lookin' at the battery and stator.

WWW   IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 05/29/10 at 13:43:18

Symptoms?...

When you turn the key to on,... is your headlight bright?,.. on at all?...
...when you hit the starter,... is does it crank?,... click?...
...are your fuses good?...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Reply #3 - 05/29/10 at 15:14:49

Sorry guys -

Originally I had to jump start it.  When it was ridden home, I noticed that the tail light, light, and blinkers kindof flickered.  Got it home, put it on the charger for about a week.  Tried the horn first this morning and it was weak but the bike started.  I put a voltometer on it and got the readings above.  Callled the shop and said that it could the stator or related smaller items.  I just don't know how to go about determining where the problem is.

Thanks!

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)