Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Carb Question (Read 163 times)
Tiefighterpilot

Daily Rider

San Francisco
Carb Question
05/17/10 at 22:36:03

I am about to rejet.  Which I think means, removing gas from tank, removing tank, removing carb and replacing stuff with Lancers Kit.

So, before I start... couple of total noob question.

1.  Do I need to remove the Gas?  Can I just plug the hole (say with a Golf Tee) on the fuel line if tank is near empty?
2.  Should I expect a big mess?  Get tarp on my garage or something?

Thanks.

2007 S40, KN Cone Air Filter, BCB Pipe, BCB Fender and seat, Superbrace Fork Brace with guard, 55 Pilot, 155 Main, washer mod, iridium spark plug, no afterfire, some engine breaking noise
  IP Logged
BurnPgh
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Carb Question
Reply #1 - 05/17/10 at 23:03:37

If you can remove the tank with the petcock on, yes. I never could. I always had to drain the tank, remove the petcock THEN remove the tank.

-Set your petcock to run.
-Remove gas line from the carb. You'll spill some gas but not much. You shouldnt have to plug it. If it keeps flowing fuel you have  an issue with the diaphram in your petcock and you'll drain the tank whether you want to or not, so have a gas can nearby just in case. Have the garage door up.
-Remove the vac line from the petcock. Plug the vac line tightly.
-Remove the throttle cable
-Remove the tank if you can. It requires a fair deal of wiggling from those that can do it.
-Start the bike and let it run a few minutes until it dies.
-Loosen the hose clamps on either end of the carb.
-Remove the top of the carb (Probabaly gunna need vice grips on those screws. I recommend an impact driver)
-Turn the carb counterclockwise(as viewed standing behind the bike) You might have to push down on the carb to clear the frame as you turn it. It may scrape the frame but it will squeeze by.
- Remove the bottom of the carb.