Send Topic Print
tire recommendations? (Read 635 times)
Bryan
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

tire recommendations?
08/16/09 at 21:10:40

I need new tires for my Savage.  It's my first bike and I have no experience with this stuff.  Some have recommended me order them online and change them myself, but I don't have an air compressor, a garage, or the time, so I'll probably take it somewhere.  But I still might buy them online if I can get a good deal.

I'm not looking for anything super nice, but I don't want something that'll fall apart.  I guess what I'm saying is that I don't need any speed rated or performance tires, but if the treadwear is significantly higher I don't mind paying a little more to save money in the long run.

1. Any good websites where I can find tires?
2. Any recommended brand/series/model of tires?
3. What should I expect to pay for tires?
4. What can I expect to pay to get them put on?  How much is too much?

Thanks!

IP Logged
Educatedredneck
Alliance Member

Sometimes it's
better to be lucky
than good.

Hampstead, Maryland
Re: tire recommendations?
Reply #1 - 08/16/09 at 21:44:54

Bryan,

To quote Paladin, "There are good motorcycle tires and there are better motorcycle tires"

I currently have IRC Wildflares - 100/90 - 19 front and 150/80 - 15 rear.  With tubes I paid about $200.00 for them including shipping from J&P Cycles.
Way better than the stock IRCs.  It really all about how much you can afford.  Do buy new tubes when you get the tires.

You can save a few bucks if you take the wheels of the bike and have the dealership mount them for you, if you don't have the means to do it yourself.  If you have to have someone do everything for you, now is the perfect time to find a independent shop that is willing to work on your bike.  Just do not expect same day service if you take the bike in.

When I did my tires, I changed them myself.  With my son helping me.  Of course, I had all the tools.