Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
My First Ride In Four Years. (Read 136 times)
Midnightrider
Serious Thumper

Alliance Member

Winston Salem, NC
My First Ride In Four Years.
08/15/09 at 18:15:51

Four years ago I had a stroke and I went blind in my right eye. I had ridden motorcycles all my life. With no vision in my right eye I decided it might be best if I quit riding. I sold my Triumph Trophy and Thunderbird. Several months later my vision started coming back but the best it ever got was 20/100 with glasses on. I'm a guitarist so I put together a rock n roll band to take the place of my bikes. Jan. this year I came down with Lupus. I got rhuematoid arthritus in my hands from the Lupus. A lot of days I can't play guitar so there goes the band. Depression set in and I decided the only way to overcome the depression is to get another motorcycle. I'm living off disability now and money is tight but I found an 03 Savage with 4,700 on the clock and I got it for $2000. I rode it home (about 30 mi) and it cut off twice. The second time I put the petcock on prime and had no more problems. I've been cleaning on the bike for about 2 weeks. The headlight bracket was broken, had to get another one. Replaced the vacuum line to the petcock, changed oil and basically went all over the bike. Today I decided to go for my first real ride. I had forgotten how much fun riding is. I climbed a couple of mountains with the Savage and she did great. I rode about 85 mi. Most of it was twist and turns, one of my favorite old runs. I was probably grinning from ear to ear the whole trip. When I go to bed tonight I'll probably still be smiling. No more depression. The Savage is a great bike and I'm extremely happy with my new purchase. I'm 5'7" and she fits me like a glove. At my age and my health condition she has all the power I need and she even does pretty dang good in the twisties. Today is one of the best days I've had in the las