My Gas tank (Read 234 times)
Savage_Amusement
Serious Thumper

On this steel horse
I ride.

Omaha, NE
My Gas tank
07/12/09 at 21:43:31

Alright I have been messing with this stupid gas tank for about 3-4 months now. I am finally getting to the end and I'm stuck and would like to hear a few of your guys opinions on a couple of things now.

So my tank when I got it looked like this:

Please forgive the cell phone pics.
I did not like that style of gas cap. So I got one that is like the Aviation style. So it look like this now.

I did have it painted at one point, but it bubbled so it all came back off. I was pretty pissed to say the least. This is what it looked like with the screws in.

Anyhow now the problem is I'm not sure what to do now. I've already put a lot lot of work into the tank, and now I don't want to half ass anything. I already had the outer ring powder coated because at first I was just going to screw it in to the tank and use some sealer under it. I'm not sure if that will mess up the paint under it and allow for something bad to happen.

My other plan is to take that ring to work and sand blast it and braze it onto the tank and fill in the screw holes and make it look semi original to the tank. There will be a liquid bladder on the inside to seal it all up and with the braze on the out side I don't think it will rust between the bottom of the ring and the tank.

I don't know if you understand any of this but if you do lol, what do you think would be the best way to go. I'm slightly leaning to the brazing it on.

« Last Edit: 07/13/09 at 02:05:05 by Savage_Amusement »  

2K5, 1975 Sportster tank, blacked out motor, K&N cone, Much more to come later!!
  IP Logged
Violent_Rage

Burp!

Trento - Italy
Re: My Gas tank
Reply #1 - 07/13/09 at 00:22:23

Which motorcycle comes your tank? Sporty?
I like a lot!  Wink

IP Logged
BurnPgh
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 07/13/09 at 00:46:38