Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New member - battery question (Read 109 times)
siriusjoe

Chicago, IL
New member - battery question
03/14/09 at 23:24:50

Hello all, this is my first post here although I've been lurking for several months.   I'm getting back into riding after a 30-year break, and my wife is giving it a try too.   I did a lot of dirt bike riding as a teenager but my wife is a total noob.  We both took the MSF course last summer and got our M-class endorsements last fall.

We finally got our bikes this weekend (2004 Marauder 800 for me, and 2006 S40 for the wife) and since the weather warmed up a bit, we went for our first real ride today.   It went fairly well except for a little spill my wife took in a parking lot - she dropped the bike and broke a turn signal.  But she was a real trooper and got right back on again, so I think she'll be OK.   She knows what she did wrong, and I doubt she'll make the same mistake again.  Wink

So, that leads to my question...  When she dropped the bike, it fell on the left side and laid on the ground for about 60 seconds before we lifted it back up.   I noticed some clear liquid on the pavement, which I suspect was fluid from the battery.   When we got the bike home, I found the little window in the battery box where you can see the fluid level, and it does in fact look like the level is low.   So, how do I get that battery out to refill it?   It looks like it comes out from the right side after removing the cover panel, is that correct?   And should I just refill it with distilled water, or do I need something more?

Thanks for any tips and advice.  If there are any photos that show how to remove the battery, that would be great.   I don't (yet) have a service manual for this bike.

Regards,
Joe