Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Completed my first oil change.  New question (Read 193 times)
slowfaller

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Near Chicago, IL
Completed my first oil change.  New question
02/07/09 at 02:48:24

Yup, sure did and this site made it a snap.  Even got to ride her around for a bit since the weather was a balmy 37F.  Today it might reach 50F.  

I do have a question though.  Both of my rear blinkers are broken, right now the stems are wrapped in electrical tape and I've been using hand/arm signals while riding.  I want to replace them but the dealership wants $70 each!  Using the photos I'm about to post how do I remove the stems?  

Do I have to remove the rail? Get the wrench under the fender to do so?  Thanks in advance, I'm a complete noobie when it comes to this stuff.  Here are a couple of pics.

IP Logged
Skid Mark
Serious Thumper

FSO

Calgary, Alberta
Re: Completed my first oil change.  New question
Reply #1 - 02/07/09 at 07:44:09

Yup. Rails come off real easy. Just undo the bolts. The ones under the fender are a bit hard to get at, but not overly difficult.

2008 S40 , Windshield, Sigma Cycle Computer, after market backrest & luggage rack, Tkat Fork Brace, saddlebags, 12v power supply, Garmin GPS
'09 C50SE, '09 C90
Shoulda got into this years ago
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 02/07/09 at 08:43:44

Take the seat off
jack the rear up till the weight is off the tire
remove shocks
lift higher for more access underneath the fender
when you take off the bolts the rail maybe loose will slip down due to gravity and scrape your fender.  Slip a piece of cardboard inbetween the rail and fender.  It will make it easy to pull off too.
wires are routed to the front of the rail and under the back of the frame to bullet connectors.

WWW   IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?