Send Topic Print
Battery Charging (Read 162 times)
ALittlebird

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Louisville, KY
Battery Charging
10/29/08 at 02:25:16

Sadie's not happy so I need to get it on the trickle charger tonight. The Clymer's manual says to pull the battery to charge it.  Do I have to do that? The garage is pretty cold so bringing it in to charge might be better but I wasn't sure. And there is no light in there either. At least my apartment has a garage - most don't.

This is my first time dealing with the battery. A battery virgin as some might say.  Smiley

Anything weird about removal I should know that the Clymers doesn't tell you?

IP Logged
Roadrunner17
YaBB Newbies

We are men of
action.  Lies
do not become us.

VA Chesapeake
Re: Battery Charging
Reply #1 - 10/29/08 at 03:58:40

The issue is figuring a way to connect up the terminals without removing the thing.  Being so tight in the battery case there is no obvious, reliable way to hook it up without causing a short.  If anyone has figured out a way to do that let us all know.

Since I use mine as a daily commuter (=short rides 1-3mi) repeated starts, not enough running time to fully recharge the battery, I've had battery issues too.  I'd like to know if there's a more powerful alternator to recharge the unit faster.  Just a dream.

IP Logged
Bleemus

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Mt Pleasant, SC
Reply #2 - 10/29/08 at 04:22:09

Get a battery tender.  It has small leads that stay on the battery and they go to a small plug that the tender plugs into when needed.

This is the one I have and it works great.

http://www.batterytender.com/default.php?cPath=11_3

IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Reply #3 - 10/29/08 at 04:35:18

You can charge it without taking it out,put the red clamp on positive the black on a motor fin,if it doesn't charge up you might need water then you have to take it out,Distilled water

william h krumpen
  IP Logged
ALittlebird

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!