Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Just a pic (Read 178 times)
Rock_Steady
YaBB Newbies

Get off my lawn!

Just a pic
10/13/08 at 12:43:55

No idea what happened to the color on this, but just wanted to post a pic of what I'm riding.  Only mods so far are some new pegs to give me a little more legroom, the schwinn bike computer, big crank battery and the airhawk seat.

The blue color to everything is throwing me off, but its a cell phone camera, what can I say?  Hoping to find a seat that will help me without needing the airhawk, don't like the way it looks and the help is marginal.  Turns a 25 mile seat into a 50 mile seat, if I'm not sitting in traffic.  I think if the bike is to make it through another season some forward controls might be in the works, and rejet/muffler/oldfeller filter.  

Thanks to everyone from the site for thier wisdom, in August I was a total noob and now I'm a daily work rider that is a total noob.

Good....Bad....I'm the one with the gun.
  IP Logged
Jack_650

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Minnesota
Re: Just a pic
Reply #1 - 10/13/08 at 13:32:02

Is that a '00 or a '96?

If you're tall enough to want forward controls you might be up for what I did to my bike. I replaced the seat with a V-Star saddle seat. It sits about you about 3" inches higher and shifts you back a couple inches overall. and it's so much more comfortable. I've logged two round trips to Miami, FL and one to NC from southern MN on that seat with nothing extra under me. There were a more than a few 500+ mile days and a couple over 600. I did get a saddle size gel pad, but the improvement is marginal except for some vibration dampening at highway speeds. Spent all that extra money and then tend to forget to pick it up on the way out the door.

You want comfort you've got to go wider for the seat in my opinion. I'm not a total porker, but even so there needs to be some support for more than just the boys and the butt-bone.

Jack

IP Logged
Jack_650

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Minnesota