Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
My commute home yesterday. (Read 210 times)
savageguy
YaBB Newbies

Newb

My commute home yesterday.
07/09/08 at 05:48:41

So there I was: cruising down a main drag through my neighborhood, in the last 5 minutes of my commute home.  The road is a little curvy, has a speed limit of 50mph and there's not a car in sight so I'm humming along enjoying the nice day when all of a sudden the bike just shuts down on me.  50mph... 40mph... 30mph... as I'm slowing down, I try starting it back up with no luck.  I pull over to the side of the road.

I try the ignition.  I try the ignition while giving it some throttle.  Then I flip the fuel switch to reserve and try one last time.  Ignition, nothing.  Ignition with throttle and whoomp, it starts up with a sputter, idles rough for a few seconds and then evens out.

Since I'm a noob, I just figured I misjudged the amount of gas I had and went straight to a gas station.  When I got there and opened up the tank, I could see gas at the bottom!  There wasn't a lot but it's not like it was bone dry.  So now I'm confused: can you see the "reserve" fuel at the bottom of the tank.  I kind of always assumed the "reserve" was a distinct compartment in the tank somewhere.  Is it just a tube that's lower down in the tank than the "On" setting?  Huh

I just want to make sure the shutdown was my goof and not something more serious that I need to investigate... that could've been real ugly had it happened a few minutes earlier on the highway.  Shocked

IP Logged
aebooze

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Kingsland, GA
Re: My commute home yesterday.
Reply #1 - 07/09/08 at 05:50:26

You can see the reserve.  The tank holds like 2.8 gallons and I think .6 gallons of that is the reserve.  At least now you know.

IP Logged
savageguy
YaBB Newbies

Newb

Reply #2 - 07/09/08 at 05:53:31

aebooze wrote on 07/09/08 at 05:50:26: