Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
new savage owner, is my bike totaled already? (Read 16 times)
danroot

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

new savage owner, is my bike totaled already?
10/11/07 at 02:33:21

hey guys, i just recently bought my first savage, its an 1986 with straight bars and its got some problems. first, the electrical- the turn signals and horn dont work, the head lights are always on highbeams, the switch does nothing. theres an oil leak that seams to be coming from the top of the engine. 3rd and 4th gear are slipping a little bit.

so, basically the only positives about the bike are that it runs and it has new tires.

now, im not a mechanic, not even close, but i really like these bikes and ive been looking for one for a year now. home repairs beyond oil changes and battery replacement are going to be tough to pull off especially with no garage space to do a job like this.

basically what im asking is, in all of your experiences, roughly how much am i lgetting into on repairs (at a shop)? would i be better off leaving it as it is? parting it out? selling as is?

also, i paid 700 bucks for it, did i over pay?

any help would be greatly appreciated. and if theres anyone who lives close to santa clara, how much beer would it take to have you come over and check it out? Grin

IP Logged
Polar_Pilot

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Re: new savage owner, is my bike totaled already?
Reply #1 - 10/11/07 at 03:31:32

1. The wiring is likely broken and has been patched back together or just left broken.
2 You have a leaking head cap seal and it needs attention asap.
3.Never and I mean NEVER let the oil level get low.
4. The gears cannot "slip". The clutch slips but not the gears.
5 Price you paid was good.

IP Logged
splash07
Serious Thumper

Charleston, SC
Reply #2 - 10/11/07 at 06:26:39