Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Front Brake Lever adjustment (Read 21 times)
vinpub
Ex Member

Front Brake Lever adjustment
09/02/07 at 01:02:44

I just gor a LS650. It is my firts bike and I am just learning to ride. It is used with ~950 miles. I think most of the contols like clutch lever, gear shift, rear brake pedal etc work fine for me. But the front brake lever is a little too low in front of the throttle and not easily accesible like clutch lever which is flat across and can be reaced easily. I was looking for the clamps that fix the front brake lever assembly to the handlebar but couldn't figure out. I dont have the repair/service manual. Can somone help me with (1) how do I raise the brake lever assembly to come up flat across the throttle (or is it deliberately lower than the clutch lever set up)? and (2) where do I get the manual, is there one accesible on the internet somewhere?
Thank you for your help.

IP Logged
drums1
Serious Thumper

'87 Savage
Bashed--Down for the
count

Racine, Wisconsin
Re: Front Brake Lever adjustment
Reply #1 - 09/02/07 at 04:13:17

Brake lever is removeable--adjustable--not sure exactly how myself. There is a downloadable manual in the Tech section of this forum. It's 11 megabytes. It's in PDF format. (Adobe Acrobat Reader) Hope you have a broadband internet connection. Good luck and welcome to the Savage world.

IP Logged
jkhulon73
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 09/02/07 at 06:28:48

Not knowing what year your bike is (or if it's even different from an '87) I'll show you where it's at on mine- back side of the lever assembly, where the mirror stalk  attaches. Two allen bolts, size... 5.

Loosen those two bolts and you should be able to rotate the assembly around the handlebars to what ever is comfortable for you.

IP Logged
Demin
Serious Thumper

We need more
chlorine in the gene
pool

Warren,Ohio
Reply #3 - 09/02/07 at 06:34:50