Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
am lovin my '01 savage ls650 (Read 6 times)
Dee
YaBB Newbies

pa
am lovin my '01 savage ls650
06/15/07 at 21:51:26

[b]HI, I am a new rider...bought a ls 650 savage after talking to many riders..mostly harley riders..But I am 5' 4" 120 pounds & quite a few recommended this bike. I have a 2001 with 800 miles on it. I got real lucky & found one that a woman bought & was afraid to ride it, Garage kept & oil changed 4 times with 493 miles on it!!
Now I want to make it a bit louder, I will feel safer if I am heard. I see the guy on ebay selling harley pipes bored out & I have a stock sportster pipe that I want to try to bore out on my own. Do I drill into it somewhere? I am very new to this, but I think I waited to many years to enjoy!! Any help on how to "bore" out this pipe would be appreciated. I put 350 miles on this bike in 2 weeks & I work full time!!  I can only think about when I can ride again, but I feel the need to be heard after riding on the back of many harleys!  Thanks for any help, Dee

Thanks, Dee
  IP Logged
Yonuh Adisi FSO
Serious Thumper

Savage Jedi (Knight)

Pilot Valley NV, aka Tatooine
Re: am lovin my '01 savage ls650
Reply #1 - 06/15/07 at 21:55:38

First of all, welcome to the site and the world of the Savage.

Second: I know nothing about boring out pipes, I just put on a Jardine slip-on. But when you change the pipe to a freer flowing one, you will most likely need to re-jet the carb. (which is extremely easy even for a beginner)

You will get much help from this site with many ideas that you didn't even know was possible on what to do with this particular animal.

Check out Flight of Destiny http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H9130XC
  IP Logged
BornOnFire
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 06/16/07 at 08:38:27

There are a lot of posts on here discussing the HD pipe install. I recommend doing a few searches and reading up on what everyone else has done.