Cam Shaft Porosity (Read 38 times)
Rockin_John
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

+36° 10' , -95° 48'
Re: Cam Shaft Porosity
Reply #30 - 04/18/07 at 11:41:11

Savage_Greg wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:04:
If I was single, I'd be free from taxes.  Of course, I might live under a bridge too.

I'm a kept biker  Shocked

I know that feeling... I worked for 16 years at a company that had frequent layoffs. Some were so long that the unemployement checks would run out. Sometimes I worked as a state licensed Journeyman HVAC tech, or took other jobs. But other times, my only income was $50-$150 a week from my part-time (weekend warrior) job as guitar slinger for rock, blues, and country bands. During those rare periods in my 26 year marriage, my wife was the main breadwinner, and I considered myself a "kept musician." Often I had motorcycle(s) during those times, so I guess I also qualified as a "kept biker."

Anytime I look back through the years like that, my standard comment is; that my dear wife is only one miricle away from sainthood! Wink

Savage content: Porosity or Galling... regardless of which, IMHO next time you've got that cam out, I highly recommend you toss it and get another. It is a roadside stranding, or even a serious engine accident waiting to happen!

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #31 - 08/13/07 at 21:53:29

CAM SHAFT POROSITY IS SOLVED!

After months of saving my pennies, I just got my new (reground) camshaft back from Lancer and his "Web Cam" connection.  It looks mighty pretty too.  As the note inside the box said, "Power in a Box".

The whole experience was excellent.  How long did it take?  I think that I sent Lancer my cam about 3 weeks ago.  Not a bad turn around time.  Packaging was great too.

Thanks Lancer!

The first thing that I did was rub on it with lots of fresh clean oil....it likes it, I can tell.  I can't wait to thump again!