Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cost of rejetting and carb cleaning (Read 34 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Cost of rejetting and carb cleaning
01/03/07 at 23:37:17

Okay - I am not at all mechanically inclined so I have to rely on the mechanic types.  No problem - I'm fine with this shortcoming.

Quick question - put a new pipe on and I'm having it rejetted.  $150 plus 60 for the parts.  They also said that the carb should probably be cleaned - $112.  It's a 1998 with only 7000 miles.  We bought it from a guy that let it sit for quite some time.  My son's put 2000 miles on it since we bought it.  Does it need the carb cleaning?  If so, is it a decent price?

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
azjay
Serious Thumper

aridzona...        
            its a
dry heat

Re: Cost of rejetting and carb cleaning
Reply #1 - 01/04/07 at 06:12:39

$322.00!? to clean and rejet a carb!? is my math correct, is that what you're telling us? it seems WAAYY out of line to me, the jets are $2.50(2), the labor could be 2 hrs maybe 3 hrs including cleaning. thats $100.00 an hour plus 10x on the parts  Shocked i'm in the wrong buisness  Roll Eyes. i'm sorry i'm not more help, as i dont truely know what mechanical services cost, i'm sure someone here has paid for these services, and will let you know what they paid. it just seems high to me. is this a suzuki stealership, or an independent repair shop? where are you at? maybe another member is in the area, and can help with a different shop recommendation.

dyna muff,1/2 spacer,152.5,55,drilled air box,idle mix,spark plug door,harley bars & seat,spitfire windshield,turn signal,dunlops,man.pethingy,ISO pegs,engine cage,hiway pegs,support 81
  IP Logged
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Reply #2 - 01/04/07 at 06:32:52