Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Replacement muffler (Read 6 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Replacement muffler
12/03/06 at 15:37:36

Me again - my son always would like a meatier sound to his bike.  There was a great post that had different sounds to different mufflers.  It was good to hear them.  The one we like is the "screamin' eagle" but when I tried to find it, it looks like it's just for a H-D.  Is this true?  If not, where would I find one to buy?  Do the Jardine slip-ons sound meaty or throaty?  I want to get one for the least amount of money.

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
Brewbrother
Serious Thumper

Just lending a
helping hand.

Re: Replacement muffler
Reply #1 - 12/03/06 at 16:04:04

The slip on mufflers for sporsters without the cross over fit nicely. Most harley dealerships throw them away. You should be able to get one for about $10. Ebay is a good place to find them as well. BTW, an upgrade in exhaust will mean an upgrade in air and fuel delivery. check the posts on the white spacer mod, rejetting and K&N air filters. The exhaust is a bolt on application as is the carb mod and air filter, happy wrenching.

Opportunities multiply as they are seized.
No spacer,60 pilot jet, 155 main jet, plug door, sportster muffler, k&n drop in, iridium plug, brake pedal mod,de-badged, Dunlops, bullet turn signals.
  IP Logged
Dragon King

IL
Reply #2 - 12/03/06 at 18:00:42

jardine's are very nice but can be pricey some where in the tech section is sounds of the different muffler. If check in the market place you should beable to find one go the through some of the older  post and contact people to see if they still have the muffler.  happy hunting

I refuse to tiptoe through life...
Only to arrive safely at Death.
  IP Logged
Steve530
2005 No Login

Knoxville, TN
Reply #3 - 12/03/06 at 23:12:26

davedra,