Send Topic Print
Advice for a newbie (Read 6 times)
deepakd
Ex Member

Advice for a newbie
07/20/06 at 09:14:00

Guys

I just completed my MSF course though I am not really a newbie rider

Now I am looking for a small bike ( all used ) and here are few options I am considering:

Rebel 250

Savage 650  

Virago 250

I found a used savage 650 2002 model with 3k miles for $2200 in san diego

The gas mileage owner says is ~45mpg which is not impressive I think so

Also, the bike is loud otherwise in good condition with small rust on chrome.

Is there any way to increase the gas mileage of LS650 ?

Rebel 250 gets almost 70mpg though it is little bit slow.

Thanks

DD

IP Logged
mornhm - FSO
Serious Thumper

HMMM

Re: Advice for a newbie
Reply #1 - 07/20/06 at 09:28:48

I ran my Savage pretty close to stock for over 5K miles (don't remember exactly how many). All conditions, kept track of the fuel added. Average MPG was 52 for those miles.

An interesting thing I've noticed with my new MC is that I went to a higher grade gasoline and my mileage stepped up over 10% (from around 40 mpg to around 45 mpg) same type of riding same rider.

Biggest differences in mpg is probably tuning and the right hand twisty thang.

IP Logged
necropsy
2005 No Login

Suzuki '05 S40

Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reply #2 - 07/20/06 at 09:36:28