Send Topic Print
Introduction (Read 1 times)
Aviler

American Rebel
Dragon Pirate

McPherson, KS
Introduction
05/27/06 at 19:08:16

Hello. My name's Vince. I decided it wouldn't hurt anything to introduce myself.

My ride is a '96 Savage that my then fiance/now wife bought for me from some mutual friends Christmas of '03. Due to varying circumstances, I am just now getting around to the point where I'm going to be riding.

I started learning to ride from these same mutual friends over the spring/summer of '03 on this same bike. Took the MSF course the first weekend of this month, so am legal to ride, now. (And, to add to everybody else's recommendations, yes, it is a very worthwhile course.) Next step is to get it tagged, which is something I'm needing to scrape up for seeing as it's been sitting for those almost 2.5 years unregistered Sad.

Found this site a couple of weeks back and have been avidly browsing the information provided. I'm glad to have found a friendly and informative source of information (okay, a bit redundant) for what I hope will be a long and fruitiful riding experience.

And, for any records that anybody is trying to keep, I'm a 6.5' (yes, I'm going to do something about the leg roomSmiley), 180lb. male rider born in November of 1976. Smiley

I think that's enough biographical information for now.

'96 maroon, 1.625
WWW   IP Logged
Dynobob
Serious Thumper

2003 LS650 (with
Supertrapp)

Northern Virginia
Re: Introduction
Reply #1 - 05/27/06 at 21:43:24

Welcome to the forum. Yeah, forward controls are a necessity for someone of your stature. BTW, how's the air up there Grin

Have fun and ride safe.

IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Reply #2 - 05/29/06 at 09:44:49

Welcome Vince.  Yeah, while it's always personal preference, I'm thinkin' you'll be a lot more comfortable with forward controls... or sit on the pillion.