Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie with some questions (Read 2 times)
Kev95GS
Ex Member

Newbie with some questions
05/25/06 at 10:28:48

Hello All,  

Newbie here.  My name is Kevin and I have a problem with motorcylcles....  not enough room in my garage for all that I want.   Wink  Grin  

Anyway, have an 86 Savage, 18K on the clock, for the wife but have  to do some work so she can ride it.    

I am in the process of changing the fork seals and brake pads (leaking seals do a super job of trashing brake pads)  

A few questions

1)  I have the forks off and drained the oil by pouring out the top of the tube.  Just wanted to make sure that I still need to remove the allen bolts at the bottom to pull the slider and get the seal out.

2)  It calls for 15w oil but the local dealer only had 10w and said it would be fine, a little responsive, any thoughts or experiences with 10w?

3)  I have also read many of the posts concerning the lean mixture.  I just put in a new float valve and needle ( had about 2 quarts of gas in the crankcase) and have the idle mixture screw at about 2.5 turns.  Would the 1/2 spacer help as well since the bike has the 155 jet?

Any other suggestions for a well running bike?

Thanks  in advance and I think this is a great site!

Kevin

IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Re: Newbie with some questions
Reply #1 - 05/25/06 at 13:10:27

On the 86 you probably have an adjustable needle with three notches.  Moving the clip a notch will likely work instead of filing the spacer.  That will affect your midrange, while the jet size is the high end.  However, if the needle you put in is different from stock......

1998|MAC muffler|ceramic coated header|K&N air filter|Amal Mk2 carb|Odyssey battery|iridium plug|NC windshield|Dunlop 491s|Superbrace|EBC brake rotor|12.5" Progressive shocks|Kuryakyn ISO grips