Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How many miles will it last? (Read 15 times)
jedrake72
Ex Member

How many miles will it last?
03/29/06 at 22:23:25

Hi all.  I'm just getting into riding and will be taking my MSF course in a couple of weeks so I have started looking for my first bike.  Used bikes seem to be hard to come by around here but I found an 87 Savage 650 at a consignment shop for $900 but it has 30K miles on it.  I don't necessarily NEED the bike to last all that long but I really don't want it to blow up the first time I get the nerve up to take it on the freeway.  Assuming the engine has not been rebuilt, what do you all think?  How will the bike hold up with this many miles on it?

IP Logged
Salad_Shaker
Ex Member

Re: How many miles will it last?
Reply #1 - 03/29/06 at 23:46:07

See Max Morley's reply to Odometer Question further down the Rubber Side Down  page.

IP Logged
jedrake72
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 03/30/06 at 10:05:43

I suppose a better question would be, what is the average life of one of these motors?

I'm sure that most any bike that gets good care and sees lots of highway miles can make it to 100K (I may be wrong here since I am used to the car world and completely new to bikes so please correct me if I am mistaken) but since I do not know anything about the history of this bike should I assume that it can make it this long?

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Reply #3 - 03/30/06 at 13:15:26

out of the 1000 members or so on this board, there hqve been 2 catastophic engine failures before 20 k miles.  There've been maybe 5 - 10 others that needed a rebuild of some sort (more often than not, a new cam chain tensioner) that were not the result of user/rider error (e.g. jetting too lean)... a reasonably reliable motorcycle.  Just change your oil, and if you change your exhaust or air intake, ejet accordingly... we'll help ya' out!

IP Logged
Ed L.
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member