Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Red rear turn signal lenses (Read 12 times)
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Re: Red rear turn signal lenses
Reply #15 - 12/04/04 at 13:43:10

I don't quite get it.  It is easy to add running light to the turn signals...a different socket and an extra wire.  Done.  No relays needed....but why would you want to override the turn signal function when the brakes are on?  Why not just add some additional red lights and connect them to the brake light?

And no, never heard of 3 filament bulbs either....

IP Logged
Paladin.
Serious Thumper

Hamster

Sunny Southern California
Reply #16 - 12/04/04 at 14:42:47

Basically because I'm a pig headed technician.  And explaining it to the wife I realized I was wrong, a single relay wouldn't work.  I'll have to make a solid state exclusive OR gate.

I want it to look nearly stock, just red lenses rather than amber.  No additional lights.   I want the tail light and the two side lights to be a low lumination red while running.  Braking I want all three to brighten.  The turn signal will brighten it's side, unless the brake light is on in which case it will dim it's side.  Same as an older car with the two filament bulbs in the tail lights.

The LED kit found by rkutzner will do exactly what I want -- except with amber lenses.  May have to go that route if I cannot find the parts to make the gate -- a lot of electronics are no longer manufactured.

----------aside----------------
Back in the late '50's early '60's we (Rockers) mocked the Mods with their scooters wired up like Christmas trees.  I carry a dislike for extra lights to this day.

Boolean logic: in, in, out:
AND   OR    ExclusiveOR
000   000   000
100   101   101
010   011   011
111   111   110

WWW   IP Logged
cphilip
Ex Member

Reply #17 - 12/04/04 at 19:30:19