Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
First Oil Change (Read 15 times)
Bluejeanz
Ex Member

First Oil Change
09/03/04 at 04:41:25

Hi all...I'm a newbie rider.  I got my 03 Savage last Saturday.  It had 412 miles on when I got it and I just hit the 600 mark on my way home from work yesterday.

So now I'm ready for the first oil change.  My mechanic hubby wants to do it himself (and I'm going to watch and learn) but he wanted me to ask if there is a preferred oil.  Should we stick with Suzuki oil or is there something else out there that is as good or better.

I'm not looking to "cheap out" on this, I'm just looking for the best for my bike...

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

BTW - Thanks Susan, for leading me to this forum!

IP Logged
Susan
Serious Thumper
2004 No Login

Been AWOL but I'm
back...

Eastern PA
Re: First Oil Change
Reply #1 - 09/03/04 at 06:09:59

Bluejeanz wrote on 12/31/69 at 16:00:09:
Hi all...I'm a newbie rider.  I got my 03 Savage last Saturday.  It had 412 miles on when I got it and I just hit the 600 mark on my way home from work yesterday.

So now I'm ready for the first oil change.  My mechanic hubby wants to do it himself (and I'm going to watch and learn) but he wanted me to ask if there is a preferred oil.  Should we stick with Suzuki oil or is there something else out there that is as good or better.

I'm not looking to "cheap out" on this, I'm just looking for the best for my bike...

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

BTW - Thanks Susan, for leading me to this forum!

You're welcome and welcome to the forum.  I'll be interested in the responses as well.  There was a topic recently called "Oil Viscosity" which discussed some of this but frankly it was a little over my head as a new wrencher.  

So guys/gals, could someone summarize in newbie wrenching terms what we ought to know about oils and what oils we should we be considering?  Thanks!

Susan
Eastern PA
2004 Purple Savage
  IP Logged
Gargoyle
Ex Member