Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
your input would be a great help (Read 31 times)
anymess
Ex Member

your input would be a great help
02/24/04 at 19:54:25

Hi to all,

I am new to this forum. I am 43 yrs old and work in HVAC engineering. I have been riding for 3 years now. I ride when ever weather permits in Istanbul, Turkey. I have a 2003 black Volusia. I am a rider of superevariders, one of the biggest cruiser riding groups in Turkey. You can visit ' www.superevariders.com ' and surf trough some photographs to get an idea about riding in Turkey. Unfortunately site is mostly in Turkish but soon there will be an English version too.

I have reached this forum while looking information about savage, which I am about to buy a 1996 model for my girlfriend. So your input would be a great help.

I have seen the bike, it’s in a acceptable condition with some cosmetic defects, rust and starches here and there and new tires. I believe a new paint work and some polishing and a new exhaust might be needed. My main concern is the condition of the motor, since previous history is unknown. Owner says that it is 19000 km on the odometer but it might be 119000 km as well and he had replaced cam shaft and rocker arms due to a problem in oil supply but had not replaced timing chain and a new one might be needed soon. I had no change to inspect the belt drive clutch and brakes but I am sure to do before making my final decision.

I would appreciate any ideas. He is asking about 2500.- USD.(new 6000.-USD)  which seems to be ok for local market. But have no idea about how to check belt drive and cost of a new belt drive, a new exhaust and timing chain. What might have caused camshaft and rocker arm failure or if there are any savage specific pit falls. What else should be considered inspecting a savage?  Would this bike worth the effort to restore or should I steer away.  

I would appreciate any input,