Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Vacuum hose plug when replacing petcock (Read 34 times)
DaveFromCanada
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Vacuum hose plug when replacing petcock
08/02/24 at 07:23:48

I am an absolute newbie - or close to when it comes to mechanical stuff.

This may have been answered before, but I could not find it.

The bike runs fine on 'prime' after stalling issues. So I figure, Petcock.
I ordered a replacement, but I understand the vacuum line has to be plugged (described as being available at an auto parts store). Can anyone point me to the right-sized plug? I found some stuff on Amazon, but I don't know what I am looking at. I have a UAP right around the corner who would likely have the right thing.

I wanted to have the plug here before the petcock arrives so I can get it done in one shot.

thanks for your patience.

IP Logged
oldNslow
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rochester, NY
Re: Vacuum hose plug when replacing petcock
Reply #1 - 08/02/24 at 13:47:39

Leave the hose attatched to the carb. Find something that you can stick in the other end - little bolt, golf tee, anything that you can push in there to plug the hose that wont fall out; run the hose up to the frame under the tank and secure it with a cable tie. Those little rubber plugs that they sell at auto stores are garbage. They wont last a year.

IP Logged
ThumperPaul
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Houston, Texas
Reply #2 - 08/03/24 at 06:09:56

Vacuum line caps.  You can buy an assortment package at about any auto parts store.  They will be SAE sizes as metric seems to elude the United States.

I can’t remember which size fit tight.  It was either 5/16” or 3/8”.