New Fuel Gas Tank Cap (Read 49 times)
Jxyooj71
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

New Fuel Gas Tank Cap
08/29/23 at 16:20:13

Hi all:

I'm completely new to motorcycling and I bought a 2019 Suzuki Boulevard S40/Savage/LS650 two weeks ago and have been trying hard to learn about everything there is. It is my very first bike and I got my M1 Endorsement 3 weeks ago. I have come across an issue where the old cap and gasket would leak gas when shaking the bike. I went to a shop and the dude put another gasket on it (much bigger) and it prevents the gas leak a lot more but there's still a little leak despite the effort. I also smell like gasoline after riding and I do smell gasoline so it makes me dizzy during and after the ride. I tried to call Suzuki of Van Nuys and there isn't any in stock. I texted Partzilla and they gave me part number 44200-24860 but I'm not sure if it'll fit my bike because it's a California bike. I saw that there was 44200-24870 but it is also out of stock. I called corporate Suzuki and they have one in stock but it's 44200-24860 and it doesn't make sense to spend $200 to get a part that may not fit; the local dealership says there is no exchange for a special parts order. I have read on the forums there are people who would buy the rubber from a hardware store but it really isn't gas resistant so that's a bummer. What should I do?

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: New Fuel Gas Tank Cap
Reply #1 - 08/29/23 at 18:11:20

It's easy to overfill. Look down in the tank. The tube you're looking into? When the gas gets to the bottom of it, stop.