Send Topic Print
Computing in 2023 (Read 2486 times)
J Mac

Laissez Les Bon
Temps Roulez

Louisiana, USA
Re: Computing in 2023
Reply #15 - 02/24/23 at 15:19:29

You provide very detailed information.  I'm a software engineer, but I'm not very schooled in chip architecture.  My need to upgrade has reduced drastically in frequency since the glorious 1990s.  I don't play games, so I don't care as much.  I do wish we weren't as attached to the hip to Microsoft at work as we are.  Azure, Teams, blah blah blah.

“These go to 11.” --Nigel Tufnel
  IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Reply #16 - 03/03/23 at 21:19:21

Intel is recently been seen abandoning entire generations of Intel "progress" that have already been partially sold to Intel loving mainframe users as Intel has no path forward on the most modern TSMC ASML lithography (that Apple is monopolizing) and Intel has simply stopped paying on allocations they were paying TSMC to build a few new Intel graphics processors at TSMC facilities.

Real reason is Intel has not currently got the funds to continue to pay TSMC for it, and in addition their in house Intel new process efforts have all become "overcome by events".

Pessimists see Intel hunkering down waiting or China to invade Taiwan, just planning on having a small slice of the post Taiwan computing pie.

Click on the link below to see a graphic presentation of just how far Intel has fallen in the last calendar year.   Gelsinger is accused of "putting eyeshadow on a skunk" trying to make Intel look good to his shareholders.

https://www.fool.com/investing/2023/02/02/can-you-trust-intel-ceo-turnaround-...

https://www.techspot.com/community/topics/opinion-semis-top-five.279414/

Techspot has a harsh very recient read on the semi-conductor non-TSMC supported industry.

Here is our list for the top 5 semis:

*  The analog duopoly of Texas Instruments and ADI
*   Qualcomm
*   Nvidia