Send Topic Print
2014 S40, SOLD (Read 159 times)
Mechaniac
YaBB Newbies

Lisa

Magnolia, Texas, USA
2014 S40, SOLD
05/31/22 at 12:59:07

I reluctantly putting for sale my wife's bike.  She got pretty good at riding it then decided she had to have a trike, now that she does this one rarely gets used, I have several of my own.  I'm a mechanic shop owner and lifelong gear-head hot-rodder so I did a bunch to this bike, many things and ideas found on this forum.  I figured I'd offer it here first.

It's a 2014 we bought new a few years back, we drove a bit to get this color scheme still in showroom.  
Currently has 1350 miles and is in really good shape.  Only a couple minor flaws (small scuff on LH case and minor discoloring/corrosion at exhaust pipe to Dyna Muffler joint that had a leak at one time.  The rest is very nice.

Engine:
I contacted Lancer and he sent me a carb re-jet along with a Thunder Racing Vari-Jet Kit.  Good mileage cruising and great top end power that is easily adjusted even on the fly.
Harley Dyna Muffler installed with a RYCA joint, fits and looks like stock, deeper mellow sound, more flow.
Dave's Cool Stuff engine belt sprocket with 3 more teeth than stock.
Powder Coated black.  This allowed her to cruise at 70 MPH with the rest of us all day without buzzing her-self numb.  Can get through a traffic intersection from a stop in first gear.  Bike will top out over 100 though speedo is a little off showing 95+.  Five-speed has useable range spread now.
Otherwise, stock on third oil change.  Starts right up and runs like a top.

Body:
IMHO best factory color scheme they produced.  Very reminiscing of a nice looking Harley Sportster but at 85% scale.
National Cycle Ranger Windshield that has the classic cruiser look and is size proportionate to the bike.  Not too tall so a smaller rider can see over and yet still have chest protection and more comfort on longer rides.  It is a little adjustable in rake and height but it takes a few minutes and tools.