Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Rejetting carb. Where to source? (Read 85 times)
Newtosavagebike
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rejetting carb. Where to source?
03/02/22 at 12:37:42

I’m new to motorcycles and carburetors in general. I got my 02 ls650 last summer with less than 4K miles on it. Despite the low miles, 20 years is still twenty years and I have begun replacing and changing some things. First off  since there was often a backfire, I decided to overhaul the exhaust by replacing the gasket, pipe and muffler. I used the guide here on swapping out to a hd dyna muffler. This seems to point to needing to size up once or twice on carb jet, at least that what I’ve read. Which brings me to my questions; Where and how do I source the correct jets for my carb? Would there be other carb components that need changed as I size up?  I appreciate any feedback and apologize if this has been covered previously. Thank you

IP Logged
ohiomoto
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Rejetting carb. Where to source?
Reply #1 - 03/02/22 at 15:43:14

My 96 runs fine with Dyna and stock jetting.  I fiddled around a good bit and I ended up with a 47.5 pilot and 147.5 main. My bike backfired more when I went with bigger jets.

I get a little poof on shutdown and a minimal amount of snap, crackle, and pop if I'm beating on it.  It's well-behaved under normal riding conditions.

IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Reply #2 - 03/02/22 at 15:46:31

How’s your throttle response? If you are happy with the throttle response leave it alone. Just because you changed the muffler doesn’t mean you HAVE to rejet. There is a chance that in the last 20’years someone else has already done it. You should know what jets are currently installed - and understand why you are making changes - before deciding to make changes.

« Last Edit: 03/03/22 at 06:33:25 by Gary_in_NJ »