Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7
Send Topic Print
Clutch slipping in 1st under WOT? (Read 485 times)
ThumperPaul
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Houston, Texas
Re: Clutch slipping in 1st under WOT?
Reply #30 - 04/15/23 at 13:43:39

It would take a pretty good carb flooding for it to be what I described.  Did the bike ever seriously flood since the last oil change?  It would take something pretty noticeable.  Dang on the 85mph for 2 hours!  I have no experience on these bikes doing that!  That might be the culprit, but that still seems like a lot of oil consumption.  Good luck. I’m outta ideas. Maybe somebody else with more experience with these bikes can weigh in.

IP Logged
och
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #31 - 04/15/23 at 15:36:52

ThumperPaul wrote on 04/15/23 at 13:43:39:
It would take a pretty good carb flooding for it to be what I described.  Did the bike ever seriously flood since the last oil change?  It would take something pretty noticeable.  Dang on the 85mph for 2 hours!  I have no experience on these bikes doing that!  That might be the culprit, but that still seems like a lot of oil consumption.  Good luck. I’m outta ideas. Maybe somebody else with more experience with these bikes can weigh in.

Nah, I don't think there were any major flooding, if any, I think it may be just running the engine under high stress for a prolonged time. I know this bike isn't made for high speeds, but man it keeps up like a champ, and I'm having way more fun on it than the Harley guys have on theirs - they are just cruising their large displacement bikes at that speed, while mine feels like racing.

But I'm a bit worried about the consumption, because in the past I have ran it at WOT for 30-50ish mile distances, and ran it hard in the twisties with the sport bike riders, but it never consumed any oil. I wonder if mineral oil is more prone to consumption.