Send Topic Print
Retro Thumper project (Read 1975 times)
Edub

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Arizona
Re: Retro Thumper project
Reply #90 - 01/08/22 at 14:44:57

Great build, subscribed! It’s wonderful that you have such machining skills. I’m a decent welder, but definitely don’t have machining skills or tools. They certainly seem to come in handy for these custom builds.

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #91 - 01/16/22 at 17:02:22

I am at a bit of a standstill on the frame work - until I get my shortened fork tubes back.

So I started working on the engine.  This bike is a theft recovery and when I got it from a Salvage yard the engine was out of the bike and in a plastic laundry basket.....sitting outside.  The good news is there wasn't much damage and for some reason I got 2 engines!  I took the head covers off both engines and as is normal.....both had damaged cams and rockers!

The good news is that the piston/cylinder are in great shape, and the inside of the engine was really clean.

IMG_9606.JPG

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #92 - 01/16/22 at 17:05:31

I can't stand the idea of putting an engine back together with the old sealer between the case halves - nothing worse than an engine that is all freshened up and leaky!

The engine had been drug around on the floor.....and battery acid had taken paint off the backside that sits under the battery, and the pulley area was dirty.

So I gave the case halves a thorough cleaning, sanding and more cleaning....then taped them up.

IMG_9614.JPG

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #93 - 01/16/22 at 17:07:20

And painted with VHT Engine enamel withe ceramic.

It is a little bit glossier and a little more pronounced metallic flakes than the original......I like it!

IMG_9615.JPG

IP Logged
Dave