Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Valve adjusters and Feeler Gauges, which to buy? (Read 103 times)
Jdvt600

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Valve adjusters and Feeler Gauges, which to buy?
09/20/20 at 10:01:09

Disclaimer: I've never done a valve adjustment before but would like to learn and perform it myself. I'm also still reading through the information on the forum.

Now the question. Is there a set of adjusters and feeler gauges that can be ordered which will fit and work directly on our machines out-of-the-box?

In the "how to adjust your valves http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1325991352" post, @verslagen1 mentions "motion pro tappet adjuster" for the exhaust, but that they are "too tall for intake", he then lists some custom tools. Has anyone come across specific tools that just fit and work?

In the same post above, in the "clearance measurement procedure" image, it appears he is using a 'standard' blade type (shape/size) feeler gauge. Am I correct that I can order 'standard' blade feeler gauges to accomplish the job? Should I order angled feeler gauges instead?

Is there anyone in the San Antonio area with expertise that wants to lend a hand?  Grin

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Valve adjusters and Feeler Gauges, which to bu
Reply #1 - 09/20/20 at 10:43:07

Valve adjustment is pretty easy,.. once you've tackled it that first time.
Make sure you don't confuse mm's with inches... Grin
I have my feeler's custom bent.  
It's pretty obvious where you need to bend them once you're in there.
...and the nice thing is, I don't have to search for the right gauge anymore...
It's the bent one... Grin

Congratulations on expanding your mechanical  repertoire... Cool

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.