Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Spouting gas from crankcase breather? (Read 158 times)
Lorax
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Spouting gas from crankcase breather?
07/04/20 at 09:26:28

Hey Guys!

I'm a happy newbie on mechanics and also happy owner of three Savages. One I mostly ride, that's my Lorax. One I put together from pieces and have been riding a lot too, and one still in pieces...

Ok, so now to the one I put together. Been riding it a lot but three years ago me and my by then dear boyfriend switched the engine in it. We put in the engine from third bike in pieces, it started up well but engine was ticking from the top. Dear boyfriend adjusted the valves. Since then it's been standing 'cause of nerve injuries, life and hell and such everything...

Now I'm cleaning out the garage and will get rid of that bike 'cause I need space in the garage.

Ok, so today I put the last things together after the engine switch three years ago. It started up well and no ticking noise yet (cheers to Dear boyfriend  Grin) BUT it is spouting out gas from what I think is the crankcase breather opening in the top.

We changed the vacuum gas tap no a "normal" one long ago. But it still has the stock vacuum carburetor. Could it be the diaphragm dried out/fissured during these three years and now causing the carburetor to overflow? Or what else could it be?
Any help on what's causing this is appreciated.

/Happy lady in Sweden (English is not my first language. Smiley)

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Spouting gas from crankcase breather?
Reply #1 - 07/04/20 at 10:33:51

Have you checked the oil level in the crankcase?

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
Lorax
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 07/04/20 at 12:01:27