Send Topic Print
Fuel Leak Boulevard S40 (Read 70 times)
palfer
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Fuel Leak Boulevard S40
01/26/20 at 08:26:58

Hi Everyone--new to the forum.  Trying to help my neighbor who is pretty sick and needs to sell this bike.  

First off, I'm a decent automobile mechanic, worked on them my entire adult life but I don't know the first thing about working on or riding a motorcycle, so I appreciate the patience and help anyone can lend.

Visual inspection of the bike shows sizeable leak coming from a port  on the underside of the air box.  Also has dead battery.  While acquiring a new battery I also thought it would be a good idea to change the oil/filter in preparation for sale.

I opening the drain bolt and the crankcase was full of fuel.  From reading historical posts it seems the petcock is a likely culprit here.  I saw a post on ways to test the petcock but those included getting the bike out on road which I can't do because its tags are expired, more importantly I don't know how to ride.

I'm OK with buying a petcock on a hunch given they aren't terribly expensive but wanted opinions on if the group thinks the issue is more carburetor related given the findings I listed.

Thanks!

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Fuel Leak Boulevard S40
Reply #1 - 01/26/20 at 08:36:08

The vacuum operated petcock has a diaphragm that deteriorates and allows fuel to flow into the vacuum line - the fuel ends up in the crankcase and/or airbox.

The common fix is to buy a Yamaha Raptor 660 petcock and use it to solve the problem permanently.  You should buy a Yamaha petcock, and not the Chinese copies.  If you don't see the Yamaha part number and the white box - don't buy it.