Rocker arm oiling (Read 231 times)
Armen
Serious Thumper

Half-Witted
Wrench-Jockey from
Jersey

Rocker arm oiling
11/07/19 at 20:05:10

Must be a layer of brain rust, but I can't for the life of me see any way that oil is getting to the rocker shaft-to-rocker surface. Seems amazing that the system would live with just splash lubrication.
i'm missing something, yes?
Enlighten me.
thanks,
-Armen

In theory, theory and reality are the same. In reality, they aren't...
  IP Logged
batman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

osceola new york
Re: Rocker arm oiling
Reply #1 - 11/07/19 at 22:17:03

I'm no expert on this subject ,but I believe the following to be true,I'm sure others know much more than I.
     All cams stock ,(and possibly  webcams based on stock cams-not sure) , have a central passage through their shafts and branches leading to the lobes of the cam that supply oil to the side "cheek" of each lobe , as well as splash lubrication .   Stock  DR650 cams ,have a smaller channel and no passages to the lobes, so the lobes are splash lubricated only .(but I believe one member drilled his DR to stock specs ,restoring those channels).  I don't believe the rocker arms supply any oil.  

my old work mates called me MacGyver
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 11/08/19 at 14:23:19

"Splish splash, I was takin' a bath"...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #3 - 11/09/19 at 02:56:56