Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Gas leak/stalling problem (Read 107 times)
Sceprent
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Gas leak/stalling problem
09/21/19 at 21:51:19

I'll have to see if I remember the sticky. So I have a 03 Surf Green Suzuki Savage, no mods done stock it seems I’ve owned it for almost a month. I have no motorcycle mechanic experience, I do some work on my car and truck but still a beginner. I have basic tools.

So my problem is a triple attack. I let it warmup and at first I wasn’t sure. But it definitely stalls on me sometimes. Today it wouldn’t after sitting for a hour unless I gave it some throttle. If I give it enough to stay above normal idle it will stay running. However I soon ended up with a puddle of gas under me. I probably held the starter for about 6 seconds off 2 tries to start. I looked over the hoses from the fuel switch and such and see no leak from any of that. The leak seems to be on the chassis near the very bottom so I’m guessing carb. It’s not just the outlet hose thingy.

Stalling happens about 5 minutes into a ride sometimes but also just suddenly stalls after a decent amount of ride time say 30minutes and just suddenly shuts off.

The other thing which seems common is the pop pop of the backfiring downshifting combo. Any time I stop from about 40mph it backfires. Also when I shut it off it often gives a pop.

Sorry if this is something really basic I tried searching and will some more tomorrow.

Oil level is good according to side gauge. Just filled with gas and I top off to the rim. I’ve done nothing yet but “it had a tuneup this year”.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Gas leak/stalling problem
Reply #1 - 09/21/19 at 22:04:13

Just filled with gas and I top off to the rim.

To the rim?
As in
The tank won't hold any more?

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.