Send Topic Print
Squealing disk brake. (Read 148 times)
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Squealing disk brake.
08/24/19 at 08:28:11

My disk brakes squeal something awful.  I bought some CRC Disk Brake Quiet and per directions I need to remove the pads and spray the back of the pad.  

Well, I'm no mechanic and I'm kinda lazy.  I read in the Tech section some fellas use 500-600 grit sandpaper on the rotor.  

Can it really be this simple?  Am I missing something?  I really don't want to take the brake pads off and risk jacking something up.  It is a beautiful August day here and I'd rather be riding than wrenching today.  

2015 S40, Raptor petcock.
  IP Logged
TTom
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Charlottesville, Va.
Re: Squealing disk brake.
Reply #1 - 08/24/19 at 08:33:43

I had a similar issue a couple years ago. Turns out it was just the break pads were badly worn.  Try replacing.

IP Logged
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 08/24/19 at 08:39:11

The bike only doesn't even have 2000 miles on it.  Could they possibly be that worn?

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 08/24/19 at 08:54:25

wash the bike, get all the dirt off the disk.
that should cure it for a couple of days.

or get it drilled   Cool

WWW   IP Logged
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #4 - 08/24/19 at 08:59:04

You're right.  The bike is fairly filthy.  A product of rather be riding than wrenching or polishing.

IP Logged
Armen
Serious Thumper

Half-Witted
Wrench-Jockey from
Jersey

Reply #5 - 08/24/19 at 10:12:44

If you are trying to get the pads to bed in, or have new ones, try much more aggressive sandpaper. Like 220. 600 will just polish the surface and prob make it worse.

In theory, theory and reality are the same. In reality, they aren't...
  IP Logged
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #6 - 08/24/19 at 12:01:31