Send Topic Print
How to test the CDI (Read 137 times)
Shanghai Smith
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

How to test the CDI
07/05/19 at 13:02:28

I installed the carb kit I got from Lancer's Performance.  Every thing went well and the bike started and ran.  After looking at the install I decided to remove the airbox and during this task I unplugged all of the connectors under the seat and cleaned them and retaped some of the harness.  I mounted the
CDI on the back of the battery box, plugged everything in.  I put the tank on and tried to start it.  It cranks but won't start.  There is no spark at the plug.  I removed the tank and checked all my work and inspected everything again.  I see nothing that looks broken or burnt.  My first thought is the CDI so I looked at some of the threads on this forum and I want to test some components like the CDI and coil.  Can anyone instruct me on how to bench test the CDI?  I have a lot of experience with Detroit Iron but not so much on motorcycles.

IP Logged
pacoacevess
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: How to test the CDI
Reply #1 - 07/05/19 at 13:27:15

1997 Ignitor

1: Black/Yellow tracer   -> ignition coil;
2: Black,  no tracer  -> starter relay
3: no wire
4: no wire
5: Orange/White tracer -> ignition coil & kill/start switch = + 12V
6: Green,     no tracer   -> magneto pickup coil
7: Orange,   no tracer   -> magneto pickup coil
8: Black/White tracer    -> ground

Check pin number 1 with a lamp test, it shoud blink while you keep push starting buttom , also check 12 V on pin 5

IP Logged
BrokeAss

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 07/05/19 at 14:52:03

You can't really bench test a CDI, just test and rule out everything else until it's the only likely culprit.

IP Logged
oldNslow
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rochester, NY
Reply #3 - 07/05/19 at 17:48:40