Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
2005 LS 650 Fixer Upper - Newbie rider/wrencher - (Read 178 times)
Koldslaw
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Albany, NY
2005 LS 650 Fixer Upper - Newbie rider/wrencher -
07/03/19 at 06:54:17

Good Morning,

I have been reading the forums and looking at common causes for issues. First, i want to say thank you to the founders and users of this forum. I really appreciate all of the hard work and insight that you bring to this place.I am a brand new rider, i just finished the BRC and i am a Marine Combat Vet. So having this motorcycle has been amazing therapy for me. Before i purchased the bike, i looked on this forum for hours about stuff that would potentially be an issue.

https://imgur.com/rf1ZT74

I bought a 2005 Suzuki LS 650 about two weeks ago. I got it relatively cheap and it has about 13k miles on it. The previous owner laid it down once and there is a scuff on the gas tank and he broke the left blinker off. He put a crappy one on it but i replaced it with an OEM Blinker. So going into this, i knew there would be some sweat equity.  That being said, im willing to work hard but im not mechanically inclined. I change the oil and spark plugs in my car and thats about it.

Replaced this POS blinker with OEM
https://imgur.com/suyJ5xA

I have a few questions for the users here.

1. I installed the OEM light but there is slack and the light isnt as tight as the one that did'nt get broken off. I Zipp tied the slack to the frame under the seat as much as i could. I put roach clips inside the metal frame that leads to the seat. Any suggestions on how to make this tighter? Theres a little jiggle to it.