Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Opinion for the community - Cam Chain Tensioner (Read 106 times)
Tex
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Opinion for the community - Cam Chain Tensioner
09/15/18 at 14:54:57

Hey guys,

I took the bike apart today in order to check on the cam chain tensioner. Got about 20,000 miles on the bike. The measurement of the tensioner out of its housing is 15.3mm. I have read Verslagen's posts and others in regards to 18/19mm being where you'd want to change it out.

I have a new stock cam chain tensioner (not the Verslagen mod). Just want to reach out to ya'll and go to the collective well of knowledge because I'm new at this type of engine fixing.

- I'm curious about anything else I should be looking for.
- Is it worth replacing or can I button it up and ride it safely till winter. (I'm on the East Coast).
- Will the new tensioner I have not make a difference? I'm trying to understand if I understand correctly that if the chain the tensioner is tensioning is stretched then a new tensioner won't make any difference. Is that right to am I wrong and a new tensioner will put it back to 8/9mm like it was the day the bike was bought.

Thanks everyone for your forum, help, guidance, etc. Seriously beautiful thing to have this area to reach out.

Best regards

- Dan

P.S. attached photos if it helps to see.

IMG_0409_004.JPG
  IP Logged
GOF

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Buffalo, NY
Re: Opinion for the community - Cam Chain Tensione
Reply #1 - 09/15/18 at 15:24:44

The tensioner isn't the problem. The chain and guide wears. This wear translates to chain stretch. The tensioner is there to account for this stretch. So just replacing the tensioner will do little to correct the issue. Verlagens mod, at it's basics, lengthens the tensioner to take up the slack.

1988 Suzuki Savage
1987 Yamaha TW200
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.