Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Having trouble with a new-to-me Savage (Read 201 times)
HenryTM82
YaBB Newbies

Total Newbie

Manhattan, KS
Re: Having trouble with a new-to-me Savage
Reply #15 - 05/19/18 at 18:59:54

Quote:
Pop the cap after it stalls see if it starts.

I'll give that a try, thanks.

2002 Suzuki Savage LS650P
  IP Logged
batman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

osceola new york
Reply #16 - 05/19/18 at 20:18:59

If the vent holes in the cap are plugged you should hear air being sucked in as you remove the cap and it should start almost immediately .If not I'd pull the carb and do a good cleaning. You did plug the opening in the carb for the vacuum hose, right?

my old work mates called me MacGyver
  IP Logged
HenryTM82
YaBB Newbies

Total Newbie

Manhattan, KS
Reply #17 - 05/20/18 at 00:35:52

batman wrote on 05/19/18 at 20:18:59:
You did plug the opening in the carb for the vacuum hose, right?

Yep. I'll try to get it to die on me, and then see if it restarts with the fuel cap off in the morning and report back.

IP Logged
madmikesmech

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Olean ny
Reply #18 - 05/20/18 at 05:23:16

justin_o_guy2 wrote on 05/18/18 at 06:57:51:
Test?
Mine was fine when I bought the bike.
Got the raptor and shelved it.
It was a good thing.
The old one went tits up in no time.
They are just a problem waiting to happen.
Get ya a nice new Raptor, in a Genuine Yamaha part box.

I agree, a tried and tested solution to a problem that WILL happen!
Steer clear of the cheap knock offs, O.E.M. Yamaha as stated

1999 Savage, basically stock, except drag bars, 4"risers,Jardine turn out muffler, Raptor petcock, Verslagen modified cam chain adjuster,4" forward controls
  IP Logged
HenryTM82
YaBB Newbies

Total Newbie

Manhattan, KS
Reply #19 - 05/22/18 at 19:57:36

Okay, time for an update.