Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Having trouble with a new-to-me Savage (Read 201 times)
HenryTM82
YaBB Newbies

Total Newbie

Manhattan, KS
Having trouble with a new-to-me Savage
05/17/18 at 22:16:52

Hi everyone, I was pointed to this forum from the motorcycles subreddit, and am hoping you might be help to help me get my new-to-me Savage up to snuff.

It's a 2002 LS650P. When I picked it up, there was a good deal of fuel in the air cleaner housing - I'd say around half a cup of fluid - which I drained out and then cleaned the filter as best I could (I'll be ordering a new one). From what I've been reading on this site (this place is fantastic) it would seem I've got a couple of problems, beginning with needing to either modify my stock gascock (or replace it outright with a Raptor, which is what I plan to do as soon as I can), and possibly tear down and clean my carb.

This is where I'm having an issue at the moment. The bike gives me a hard time starting up, even using the choke, and when it does start, it idles rough and then dies as soon as I stop giving it throttle. I'm fairly new to motorcycle maintenance and I'm not exactly ASE certified, so I'm hoping people smarter than me can help me identify the source of my immediate problem and, if it's feasible, point me to how to fix it (I'd like to learn, and honestly the less money I can throw at a mechanic, the better). As of right now, what I've done is make sure the battery is charged, drained the old fuel and replaced it with a couple gallons of new fuel, and added some Seafoam to help clean the system. Problem is I can't keep the bike running long enough to get the Seafoam to circulate.