Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
2012 S40 stalling upon stop (Read 64 times)
Dennis m
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

2012 S40 stalling upon stop
04/09/18 at 10:05:40

I am a newbie bought bike last year 1200 miles now 1900 miles. just started from last year. bike started quickly  and i took out for a ride, when i came to a stop sign i pulled in clutch and bike stalled. bike started up again with a bit of trouble. turned around immediately and it happened again. Got back to garage started up and it would stall. i increased idle speed and it stayed running. took out again and the same thing happened, stalled when i came to a stop.
I did not drain gas tank and put in new gas.
i have also read about petcock issues, carb starving for gas.
Any suggestions please. Thanks

IP Logged
batman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

osceola new york
Re: 2012 S40 stalling upon stop
Reply #1 - 04/09/18 at 10:18:19

your problem seems to be in the idle circuit of the carb ,you didn't drain the carb? or use Sta-bil in the gas? if the carb sat with fuel in the bowl ,  you most likely have a plugged/dirty pilot jet .but it may be a good idea to clean the bowl and main jet as well.

my old work mates called me MacGyver
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 04/09/18 at 15:23:07

Low idle speed is deadly for the cam.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
zipidachimp
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

surrey, b.c.
Reply #3 - 04/10/18 at 03:11:11

Mine used to stall also, until I raised the idle speed a bit, no more stalling. Cool

IP Logged
bobert_FSO

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Wichita KS
Reply #4 - 04/10/18 at 06:00:07

Make sure your idle is not too low.

I understand that too rich at idle can also cause a stumble and stall when snapping the throttle closed.