Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Wide open woes (Read 315 times)
Shrulk

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Wide open woes
02/13/18 at 13:03:43

Hello all, noob here. I've searched a ton of pages while waiting for my account to be approved. 01 savage stutters bad and starts getting choppy at anything over 1/2 throttle. Doesn't matter the gear. The bike is modified with big open air filter and a shorty baffled turn out exhuast off the header pipe. I've tried jets and fresh gas. Have a raptor petcock on the way as well as a carb rebuild kit. This has me completely stumped. It starts great and will free rev as high as you want it to. Nothing seems to change this issue. At idle to 1/2 throttle under load is good and peppy. Any help and ideas are appreciated.

IP Logged
batman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

osceola new york
Re: Wide open woes
Reply #1 - 02/13/18 at 15:16:14

You only have two problems 1) your air cleaner is mounted right on the carb. 2)you've replaced the stock muffler with something worse. Don't feel bad it's a been done by lot's of newbees. Your exhaust is doesn't give the needed back pressure the motor requires,so you have mid range sag , it acting like a straight pipe ,and that's very hard to tune the carb to. Read up on it in the Tech Section .(On the right when you come on the site).

my old work mates called me MacGyver
  IP Logged
sawkuh
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 02/13/18 at 16:13:02

Id agree with above, based on the brief description.  With that air cleaner and exhaust air is coming and going with ease.  Id start with the question "what jets are in the carb?"  If its the stock jet (147.5 I think) it's a no brainer where you need to start.

IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Reply #3 - 02/13/18 at 17:16:25