That new tyre feeling! (Read 164 times)
IslandRoad
Serious Thumper

It doesn't vibrate,
it purrs!

The Kiewa Valley, Australia
That new tyre feeling!
01/17/18 at 13:02:10

I'm fairly new to riding, so I'm still experiencing routine maintenance changes for the first time.

I knew new tyres would improve the ride but, holy cow, I didn't realise just how good it would be.

I swapped the stock tyres, which were about three years old for a pair of Metzelers :

ME888 Marathon Ultra on the front 100/90-19
ME880 Marathon on the back 140/90-15

I was after a pair of 880s but the supplier only had the 888 for the front. He assured me they were compatible - same tyre, just a newer version.

With the stock tyres, when they were pumped high enough for handling well, I felt every bump in the road. When soft enough to smooth out the ride, they got a bit squirrely on the cornering. And they found every groove in the road that ran along the line I was travelling.

The Metzeler's have solved all these issues at once. I think the little bit of extra height at the back is an improvement too. It's like a different bike!

S40, 2014, Dyna, Raptor, 52.5/152.5, spacer mod, sea level, cat-eye LED tail light, bullet style halogen turn signals, 'Superbars' with custom 40mm risers, modified stock seat, Metzeler tyres.
  IP Logged
MMRanch
Serious Thumper

Evil flourishes if
Good Men do Nothing.

LYNCHBURG TN
Re: That new tyre feeling!
Reply #1 - 01/17/18 at 13:59:30

Congratulations IR   Smiley

ME888 Marathon Ultra on the front 100/90-19
ME880 Marathon on the back 140/90-15

I'm interested in what kind of millage you'll get out of them ?

Them IRC factory tires might be good when new , but they don't last very long.