Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
I think my bike was hit while parked (Read 126 times)
TTom
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Charlottesville, Va.
I think my bike was hit while parked
11/13/17 at 05:23:16

Hey all,

I commute on my 2013 every day to work.  I noticed that when I went to pull the cover off this morning, it was oddly stuck under the rear tire a bit which I thought was strange.  When I started riding it, I noticed that the handlebars were definitely off-center thought the bike tracked straight.  I still rode it in to work since I'm only a few miles away and it performed fine.  I'm thinking since it's parked in a parking space at my condo between my car and a neighbors, that someone pulled in to the spot enough to hit the front wheel.  I don't know what else I can do but to ride it to the shop to have them take a look.  Any idea if the forks could have gotten damaged or bent?  Nothing is really evident just looking at it.  Worried this will be expensive but not enough to call insurance about.

What a crap way to start a Monday  Sad

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: I think my bike was hit while parked
Reply #1 - 11/13/17 at 05:39:04

More than likely the forks are just a bit "tweaked".....this can happen pretty easily.  When I rode a dirt bike it could happen in a fall.

The cure is to loosen the pinch bolts on the lower triple tree - then stand in front of the bike with the tire held firmly between your knees.....then grab the handlebars and twitch them in the direction you need them to move.  It might take a time or two to get it straight.  Then tighten things up and be on your way!

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
batman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

osceola new york
Reply #2 - 11/13/17 at 08:18:23