Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Lookng for a Savage doner bike (Read 356 times)
RobbieKnobbie
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Philadelphia, PA
Lookng for a Savage doner bike
11/06/17 at 14:13:30

Part I, Introduction...
Hi all, I'm (potentially) new to LS650s, but not so new to bikes. I've been riding on the street for 31 years, since the day I turned 16. Didn't even get a car license till I was 28.

My current bikes are an 89 FJ1200 and a 2000 1200 Bandit that's been lightly cafe modded. Lightly.

I've been fairly active in maintenance and wrenching in general, so I'm not afraid to get dirt under my nails. I have an engineering degree, own a machine/fabrication shop, and used to be a weldor. Whatever that's worth.

Part II: The questions

OK, so I have my mind set on a project for the winter, and that project centers around a 650 Savage. I need the motor, a clean title, the wheels, or at least the hubs, the electricals, and enough of the frame to be able to see the VIN number. The rest will just go on the shelf.

So I see this bike on craigslist...
(tried to post a link to the craigslist ad, but I can't do that in my first post, so I'll post it in a minute...)

lowest price for a bike with a title I've found, owner *says* it runs well, and I don't care about the forks, triple clamps, or handle bars.AND its got a Supertrapp slip on, which is a BIG plus, cause I need one for this project.

So far so good...

But I notice the blueing on the pipe goes all the way back to the slip on, and that raises a red flag for me. Don't think I've noticed the discoloration go THAT far before, usually just down the header and not much further. Is this common on these bikes, or has this one been left to overheat too many times? Assuming it actually runs, this overheating potential is my one big concern.