Carb tuning help. (Read 265 times)
Quimrider
YaBB Newbies

Good, Bad, I'm the
guy with the gun!

Ohio
Carb tuning help.
08/15/17 at 09:00:54

I hate starting yet another carb related thread as the info already available is very thorough.  I am a fairly competent mechanic and have experience tuning carbs on other bikes.  I'm hoping someone can save me some time and lessen my learning curve with the LS650 carb by giving me some pointers to help me figure it out quicker.

My bike is an '02 with the stock exhaust/intake and stock carb.  When I got it a few years ago I thoroughly cleaned the carb and did a refresh on it replacing jets, float needle etc. all with stock parts.  I adjusted the idle air screw properly or so I thought.  It's been a while so I don't remember exactly what I set it at.

Now onto the symptoms I am experiencing. FYI it has run this way since day 1 when I refreshed the carb so this isn't a recent problem.  I just dealt with it by having a slightly higher idle speed and am now getting around to doing something about it.  Off idle and up it runs SWEET!  So no complaints there.  
  1) If I am coming up to an intersection and go from part throttle cruising (constant speed) to close the throttle (engine braking) I get a LOUD shotgun blast backfire.  This doesn't seem like it should be normal.  It's not really a problem since I usually pull in the clutch, close throttle and roll to the stop.  Also if I slowly close the throttle, ie. gradually slow down I don't get a backfire either.
  2) Choke (fuel enrichment) doesn't seem to work very well.  The first stop out will keep the engine running but idle is still very low.  2nd stop out causes it to sputter and die.  
  3) Bike warmed up and idle set at 1100RPM.  When rolling and I pull in the clutch idle drops to 900-950RPM range but comes back up to 1100RPM when stopped.  When doing the same on a freeway exit ramp it drops as low as 800 and usually stalls.