Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Turning Over, But No Ignition / Saddlebag Removal? (Read 131 times)
wonderstump
YaBB Newbies

Turning Over, But No Ignition / Saddlebag Removal?
06/12/17 at 13:21:16

I got this bike used a month ago. She is a 2009 Suzuki S40.

She ran fine in the morning, but started her up in the evening, and she turns over, but there's no ignition.

Now I'm troubleshooting, and wanting to remove the seat to get to the air filter element (which I found out hasn't been cleaned in a year) and she's nearly at 4K miles—her second big "check everything" mile marker, so I'm thinking of checking everything—and saddlebags are obstructing my reach to get to the seat bolts.

I can't seem to see HOW to get the saddlebags off. They are Viking Soft bags, but hard mounted (no quick-release). Anyone have a clue?

I'd appreciate any and all help, as I am a complete mechanical newb, and a motorcycle newb, only riding her around in the parking lot (getting to know her) before this happened.

THANKS so much, in advance.

2009 Suzuki S40 Boulevard - My First!
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Turning Over, But No Ignition / Saddlebag Remo
Reply #1 - 06/12/17 at 13:23:46

You probably need to charge the battery.
check the water level too.

WWW   IP Logged
stewmills
Serious Thumper

Imagination is more
important than
knowledge

Auburn, AL
Reply #2 - 06/12/17 at 13:31:36

A picture would help!  So many different ways to mount things, especially if it was done using a homemade bracket, which is what I had to do for my Viking bags.

I suggest you open the bags and look inside for a bolt on the inside that goes through to a nut on the outside (between the bag and the bike). If you see one, that's it.  If it is on the stock brackets, look for zip ties going out and around the brackets, and if you see them, snip them off.